Home

History of the Elbert Theatre

Elbert Theatre Foundation

Encore Productions

Box Office

Elberton Arts Center

 

 

Rental Information

 

 

The mission of the Elbert Theatre is:

Educate, Enrich, Empower, Entertain


 


 

Welcome to the Elbert Theatre page!  Please scroll down our homepage to view all of our upcoming events and auditions!
 


We can’t wait to see what this wonderful cast can do onstage in December! Tickets are only $10.00 in advance and $15.00 at the door.  ($8.00 for students.)  Please call us at 706-283-1049 or stop by the Box Office inside Elberton City Hall at 203 Elbert Street today to make your ticket reservations!  Friday and Saturday performances begin at 7:30PM and Sunday shows begin at 2:00PM. 

 HARVEY Cast List
 
Myrtle Mae Simmons – Kimberly Dennis
Veta Louise Simmons
– Peggy Saponari
Elwood P. Dowd – Bob Paul
Mrs. Ethel Chauvenet –Jodi Curry
Ruth Kelly, RN – Toni King
Duane Wilson  
Bill Jenkins
Lyman Sanderson, MD –
Nat McCarty
William R Chumley, MD
– Pat Bell

Betty Chumley
– Cathy Dennis
Judge Omar Gaffney
– Dennis Bryant

EJ Lofgren – Ken Little 

Director – Bob Larson


Show Synopsis:
When Elwood P. Dowd starts to introduce his imaginary friend, Harvey, a six-and-a-half-foot rabbit, to guests at a society party, his sister, Veta, has seen as much of his eccentric behavior as she can tolerate.  She decides to have him committed to a sanitarium to spare her daughter and their family from future embarrassment.  Problems arise, however, when Veta herself is mistakenly assumed to be on the verge of lunacy when she explains to doctors that years of living with Elwood’s hallucination have caused her to see Harvey also!  The doctors commit Veta instead of Elwood, but the truth comes out eventually.  When he shows up at the sanitarium looking for his lost friend it seems that the mild-mannered Elwood’s delusion has had a strange influence on more than one of the doctors.  Only at the end does Veta realize that maybe Harvey isn’t so bad after all...

________________________________________________________________________

________________________________________________________________________

The Elbert Theatre is located at 100 S. Olivert Street in Elberton, GA. Those wishing to audition for this classic murder mystery should come prepared to read excerpts from the script for Director Bob Larson.  Those auditioning should also come with an idea of their evening and weekend availability during the months of January through March. Performances of The Mousetrap will be held on Fri. Sat. and Sun. from Feb. 27th – Mar. 8th.  Rehearsals will begin in early January, usually on Mon. Tues. and Thurs. evenings. This show calls for a medium-sized cast consisting of a combination of five adult men and three adult women. There are no children’s roles available in this production. Actors that are comfortable using a British accent are preferable but not required.  Please see the information below for a complete listing of available parts.

Mollie Ralston, female, married to Giles, owner of the boarding house
Giles Ralston, male, married to Mollie, owner of the boarding house
Christopher Wren, male, peculiar architect guest
Mrs. Boyle, female, older, disapproving jurist guest
Major Metcalf, male guest
Miss Caswell, female, odd, masculine guest
Mr. Paravicini, male, morbid jokester guest
Detective Sergeant Trotter, male, policeman arriving to solve a mysterious case

Show Synopsis: A group of strangers is stranded in a boarding house during a snow storm, one of whom is a murderer.  The suspects include the newly married couple who run the house, a spinster with a curious background, an architect who seems better equipped to be a chef, a retired Army major and a jurist who makes life miserable for everyone.  Into their midst comes a policeman traveling on skis.  He no sooner arrives, when the jurist is killed!  Two down, one to go…  To get to the rationale of the murderer’s pattern, the policeman probes the backgrounds of everyone present and rattles a lot of skeletons in the process!  All of this cloak and dagger mystery mixed with a classic Agatha Christie switch finish create a mystery you can’t miss!  Will you figure out whodunit?

________________________________________________________________________

The Elbert Theatre is located at 100 S. Oliver Street, Elberton, GA 30635
________________________________________________________________________

REMEMBER!  The Elbert Theatre is on Facebook!  Be sure to visit our page and become a fan! You will find more production and event pictures, calendar updates, and history on the Elbert Theatre.

 

Upcoming Events List
2014
Fri. Dec. 5 @ 7:30PM Harvey Performance - Encore Productions
Sat. Dec. 6 @ 7:30PM Harvey Performance - Encore Productions
Sun. Dec. 7 @ 2:00PM Harvey Performance - Encore Productions
Tues. Dec. 9 - Fri. Dec. 12 @ 9:00AM ETF's Elementary School Christmas Movie Field Trips
Fri. Dec. 12 @ 7:30PM Harvey Performance - Encore Productions
Sat. Dec. 13 @ 7:30PM Harvey Performance - Encore Productions
Sun. Dec. 14 @ 2:00PM Harvey Performance - Encore Productions
Mon. Dec. 15 @ Drop-in 6:00PM-8:00PM The Mousetrap Auditions - Encore Productions
Tues. Dec. 16 - Fri. Dec. 19 @ 9:00AM ETF's Elementary School Christmas Movie Field Trips
Tues. Dec. 16 @ Drop-in 6:00PM-8:00PM The Mousetrap Auditions - Encore Productions
Sat. Dec. 20 @ 5:30PM Elsa's Birthday Party - Elbert Theatre Foundation

2015
Sat. Jan. 10 @ 6:00PM 6th Annual Dutchy Awards Night - Elbert Theatre Foundation & Encore Productions
Mon. Jan. 12 @ Drop-in 6:00PM-8:00PM Holka Polka! Auditions (Kindergarten-5th Grade Students) - Encore Junior
Tues. Jan. 13 @ Drop-in 6:00PM-8:00PM Holka Polka! Auditions (Kindergarten-5th Grade Students) - Encore Junior
Fri. Feb. 27 @ 7:00PM The Mousetrap Performance - Encore Productions
Sat. Feb. 28 @ 7:00PM The Mousetrap Performance - Encore Productions
Sun. Mar. 1 @ 2:00PM The Mousetrap Performance - Encore Productions
Fri. Mar. 6 @ 7:00PM The Mousetrap Performance - Encore Productions
Sat. Mar. 7 @ 10:00AM Summer Camp Registration (Kindergarten-12th Grade Students) - Elbert Theatre Foundation
Sat. Mar. 7 @ 7:00PM The Mousetrap Performance - Encore Productions
Sun. Mar. 8 @ 2:00PM The Mousetrap Performance - Encore Productions
Fri. Apr. 10 Larry Snow's Theatrical Production - Elbert Theatre Foundation
Sat. Apr. 11 Larry Snow's Theatrical Production - Elbert Theatre Foundation
Mon. Apr. 20 @ Drop-in 6:00PM-8:00PM Wrong Window! Auditions - Encore Productions
Tues. Apr. 21 @ Drop-in 6:00PM-8:00PM Wrong Window! Auditions - Encore Productions
Fri. Apr. 24 @ 7:00PM Holka Polka! Performance (Kindergarten-5th Grade Students) - Encore Junior
Sat. Apr. 25 @ 7:00PM Holka Polka! Performance (Kindergarten-5th Grade Students) - Encore Junior
Sun. Apr. 26 @ 2:00PM Holka Polka! Performance (Kindergarten-5th Grade Students) - Encore Junior
Mon. June 1 - Fri. June 5 @ 8:00AM Theatre Camp (6th-12th Grade Students) - Elbert Theatre Foundation
Mon. June 8 - Fri. June 11 @ 8:00AM Theatre Camp (6th-12th Grade Students) - Elbert Theatre Foundation
Mon. June 8 @ Drop-in 6:00PM-8:00PM Nunsense Auditions - Encore Productions
Tues. June 9 @ Drop-in 6:00PM-8:00PM Nunsense Auditions - Encore Productions
Fri. June 12 - Sat. June 13 @ 6:00PM Theatre Camp Performances (6th-12th Grade Students) - Elbert Theatre Foundation
Fri. July 17 @ 7:00PM Wrong Window! Performance - Encore Productions
Sat. July 18 @ 7:00PM Wrong Window! Performance - Encore Productions
Sun. July 19 @ 2:00PM Wrong Window! Performance - Encore Productions
Fri. July 24 @ 7:00PM Wrong Window! Performance - Encore Productions
Sat. July 25 @ 7:00PM Wrong Window! Performance - Encore Productions
Sun. July 26 @ 2:00PM Wrong Window! Performance - Encore Productions
Mon. July 27 - Fri. July 31 @ 8:00AM Kids Camp (Kindergarten-5th Grade Students) - Elbert Theatre Foundation
Fri. July 31 @ 6:00PM Joust! Kids Camp Performance (Kindergarten-5th Grade Students) - Elbert Theatre Foundation
Fri. Sept. 11 @ 7:00PM Nunsense Performance - Encore Productions
Sat. Sept. 12 @ 7:00PM Nunsense Performance - Encore Productions
Sun. Sept. 13 @ 2:00PM Nunsense Performance - Encore Productions
Mon. Sept. 14 @ Drop-in 6:00PM-8:00PM Dashing Through the Snow Auditions - Encore Productions
Tues. Sept. 15 @ Drop-in 6:00PM-8:00PM Dashing Through the Snow Auditions - Encore Productions
Fri. Sept. 18 @ 7:00PM Nunsense Performance - Encore Productions
Sat. Sept. 19 @ 7:00PM Nunsense Performance - Encore Productions
Sun. Sept. 20 @ 2:00PM Nunsense Performance - Encore Productions
Fri. Dec. 4 @ 7:00PM Dashing Through the Snow Performance - Encore Productions
Sat. Dec. 5 @ 7:00PM Dashing Through the Snow Performance - Encore Productions
Sun. Dec. 6 @ 2:00PM Dashing Through the Snow Performance - Encore Productions
Fri. Dec. 11 @ 7:00PM Dashing Through the Snow Performance - Encore Productions
Sat. Dec. 12 @ 7:00PM Dashing Through the Snow Performance - Encore Productions
Sun. Dec. 13 @ 2:00PM Dashing Through the Snow Performance - Encore Productions

   

For more information on any upcoming events, please contact
Toni King, Elbert Theatre Director
P.O. Box 70
Elberton, GA 30635
706-283-1049
tking@cityofelberton.net